Politics or Goverment. - Sarajevo


Welcome to my site about Sarajevo.


Politics or Goverment.

Somethnig about Sarajevo's politics.
In terms of politics, Sarajevo is the most important city in Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is the capital of the entire country, as well as the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina sub-entity. Sarajevo is also the obvious center of politics for the Sarajevo Canton. It is comprised of four different municipalities and is one of the few cities in the country with a separate city government. Sarajevo is the location of numerous other important political structures, such as dozens of foreign embassies. City government is split into the traditional three branches of democratic government.

Executive branch

The city government’s executive branch (Bosnian:"Gradska Uprava") consists of the mayor, his cabinet, and numerous city organizations that help in the governing of the city. The mayor is the chief of city politics, and has two deputies, along with a number of advisers in the cabinet. The role of the executive branch in city government is outlined in the city constitution.

The current mayor of Sarajevo is Muhidin Hamamdžić, from the Social Democratic Party of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The city deputy mayors are Željko Komšić and Slavo Vlaški, who belong to the Party for Bosnia and Herzegovina and the SDP respectively. They are joined by a secretary and a number of advisors.

To help the mayor carry out the executive duties of the city, the executive branch also consists of several city services, or "organizations". They are the "City Service for General Management" (Gradska služba za opću upravu), "City Service for the Finances" (Gradska služba finansija), "City Service for Local Employment" (Gradska služba za lokalno poslovanje), "City Service for Urban Planning" (Gradska služba za urbano planiranje), and the "City Service for Communal Works" (Gradska služba za komunalne poslove).

Legislative branch

The main legislative body of the city of Sarajevo is the Gradsko Vijeće, or City Council.

Councilmen are elected by municipality according to population, with Novi Grad municipality receiving the most seats in the city council and Stari Grad municipality the least. The council is headed by the council speaker, two deputies, and a secretary, and consists of 24 members.

Currently, of these 28, 15 belong to the SDP, 7 to Za BiH, 5 to SDA, and 1 to the HDZ. The president of the City Council is Mira Jadrić-Winterhalter, and deputies are Emin Svrakić and Vladimir Zubić.

Judicial branch

As the center of Canton Sarajevo, the city is also the center of judicial procedures for the area, based on the post-transitional judicial system for the country as outlined by the High Representative and his plans for the “High Judicial and Prosecutorial Councils” of Bosnia and Herzegovina in 2002. The BiH Constitutional Court is also located in Sarajevo, consisting of nine members. Four of these are selected by the house of representatives of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, two by Republika Srpska's national assembly, and three foreign members are selected by the president of the European Court of Human Rights. The supreme court of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the Cantonal court of Sarajevo Canton are also located in Sarajevo. Sarajevo is also the center of law training and education for the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

<< 02/2006 >>



Powered by